Personal Work

Below are examples of the types of personal projects I’ve completed in my free time. These often are little experiments and recreation of mechanics from video games I myself enjoy, in order to get an idea on how these work and challenge myself to re-create them.

Rainefell

An experimental, isometric, PS1 styled dungeon crawler. Inspired by games like Tunic, Vagrant Story and Zelda.

Hero Runner

Hero Runner Trailer

Hero Runner is a hypercasual infinite runner, using an pixel art art style. It’s as simple as jumping and attacking to smash boxes, slay enemies and collect as many coins as you can! These can be used to outfit yourself in new skins, or a powerful character type that starts with the red power-up.

I challenged myself to get this project done in 2 weeks, and improve on an old project in the same vein (D.va Dash – Construct 2). I would say I succeeded in this goal and might develop this game further, either with more characters that play differently, or different environments with new obstacles.

Fantasy Battle

Fantasy Battle Example

An experiment in recreating PS1 styled graphics and limitations in Unity. This project has 32 bit textures, limited draw distance and the resolution and framerate are capped to give that true 90’s gaming feel. This was inspired most of all by Final Fantasy.

My goal was to re-create the visuals of a PS1 classic within Unity, while also creating a simple RPG battle system with animations and effects. It’s not planned to be a fully fledged game, more of a tech demo.

WildRift Mechanics Recreation

WildRift Example

A greybox(ish) recreation and experiment of Riot Games ‘Wild Rift’ touchscreen controls, tower/minion targeting behaviour and recreation of ‘skillshot’ abilities for my favourite League champion, Ahri!

Used mainly as my own personal programming exercise, I wanted to recreate the main gameplay feel for Wild Rift within Unity. I also used this project to attempt to teach myself how to rig models in Blender.

No plans to make a full fledged MOBA anytime soon, so I left it at basic mechanics for now after adding some nicer visuals.

Metal Mania

A personal predecessor to the Robot Rumble project. I started this as a ‘fangame’ about the Robot Wars TV show and was very much inspired by its own spinoff games from the early 00’s. This project really allowed me to flex my 3D modelling, as I made everything from scratch, and got to recreate a lot of my favourite robots!

Application Battle!

Trainer Battle

A basic Pokemon battle in the classic Game Boy style between employer and potential-employee, me! If you’ve got this far… Think you can take me on? I challenge you!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started